Things of 2021

Originally, this was going to be a twitter thread, but then I decided no-one was going to read a multiple tweet thread by me, so I’ll resurrect this instead.

And so, I present:

THE THINGS OF 2021 – what’s made a pretty shit year less shit

Sport: For obvious reasons, we’ve not had many crowds for the last 18 months or so, but a couple of events stick out for me. Firstly – returning to Allianz Park / Stone-X. As some may know, I’ve worked full and part time as part of the match day catering at Saracens for over 7 years. These days, my role is a purely match day one. Back in June was the first game back serving beer to people in over a year. It was wonderful. Seeing different faces, talking to different people. The novelty still hasn’t worn off well into this season even if we have had the odd technical fubar to make everyone’s lives more difficult. The second was the opening of the new season at Vicarage Road. A packed house. A sunny day. THE NOISE. It was glorious. That the ‘orns chucked in a genuinely unbelievable performance was the delicious topping on it all. Thousands of happy, smiling faces…the Rookery ROARING. Amazing.


Music: Back when I was a teenager, I used to inhale music magazines. Kerrang. NME. Q. Metal Hammer. This was 2001ish, when new bands were exploding all over the shop. Not many, truth be told have lasted the course from back then. These days, of course, I’m old and boring and don’t really have the time to be discovering much in the way of new bands. Frankly, the children *are* wrong, from much of what I hear.
That said, there have been albums I’ve loved this year…..
The Anchoress’ Art of Losing has been garnering much deserved praise from a variety of places much more august than this blog but it really is quite something – a lyrically heavy exploration of grief and pain that despite being ready for release over a year ago became even more relevant in the wake of the Sarah Everard tragedy.
At the lighter end of the scale, Public Service Broadcasting have continued their evolution with the remarkable story of Berlin, Bright Magic. A band that could maybe have disappeared down a creative cul-de-sac of cutting up old films on different topics have spread their wings in a remarkable way. They also released a glorious podcast exploring the album & city- continuing their mission to Inform, Educate & Entertain.
Aside from those two, the Manics’ released more glorious noise – I’m not sure a band as deep in their career as they are should be releasing anything this vital, but here we are.
Jane Weaver’s Flock is just tremendous. It’s glam and pop and wonderful.
Whilst it’s 3 years away, it was also *terrific* to see that Coldplay are giving up the ghost.

Podcasts: It kind of feels like the same old, same old; The Bunker & Oh God What Now have continued to lead me to despair. Dan Snow’s History Hit has broadened my wings. PSB’s Bright Magic Podcast (mentioned earlier) was fascinating. From The Rookery End continues to just be the absolute king of Watford FC pods. Slow Burn returned, again, this time to talk about the LA Riots. It’s an event I had only the shallowest knowledge about – it’s been horrifying learning the depth of the issues they faced. Finally, Al Murray & James Holland’s We Have Ways Of Making You Talk is endlessly fascinating – there really isn’t a better way of going in-depth on the Second World War.

Books: I must confess, I don’t really read as much as I should, but this year has been about new perspectives. Reading David Olusoga’s Black and British after Akala’s remarkable Natives was hugely confronting for a white middle-class(ish) bloke. Both exposed so many holes in my knowledge and experience of Britain. Ian Dunt’s How To Be A Liberal was quite something too – as someone who hasn’t ever really be able to define quite what my politics are Dunt’s adventures in liberalism was hugely illuminating – I still don’t really know what I am, but I feel like I’m better informed in the battle to try and escape the populist hellscape we live in.

….and finally. It’s been a rubbish couple of years. It might seem trite, but a big shout out to the teachers, the NHS staff and all those folk keeping the country running for the rest of us.


Leave a comment